Welcome to County Armagh Hotels Guide ...


Home Page | Armagh | Hotels

Straddling the border of the Irish Republic to the South, County Armagh is the spiritual heart of Northern Ireland, presents a rich plethora of pre-historic and modern attractions in its beautiful surrounding countryside. A distinctively Irish county, Armagh is steeped in rich Celtic history and today serves as a perfect base for exploring Ireland's border country and the cosmopolitan capitals of Belfast and Dublin, both within easy reach from Armagh Town.

The cultural and ecclesiastical hub of the county is the compact city of Armagh, one of the oldest settlements in Ireland. Armagh City is the seat of Northern Ireland's Catholic and Protestant Diocese and has been an important religious site from the first millennium BC. Besides St Patrick's Church of Ireland Cathedral and St Patrick's Roman Catholic Cathedral named in honour of Ireland's patron saint, Armagh Town has an exuberant selection of curiosities and antiquities waiting to be explored including the Armagh Obeservatory and Planetarium, a 200-year old observatory that continues to serve as the country's major centre for astronomical research. A mecca for children, school parties and families, the planetarium gives visitors an insight into the relationship between planets and as well as a comprehensive view into Earth at the Eartharium Gallery.

In the outskirts of Armagh Town, Navan Fort is Ulster's foremost archaeological site where traces of Iron and Bronze-Age settlements can be found and certainly worth stopping to explore whether visiting Armagh or passing through. Nearby are the ancient relics is a Bronze Age pond that contains remnants of bronze castings. The adjoining visitor centre at Navan Fort is aptly formed in the shape of a Bronze-Age building and gives visitors a comprehensive insight into the excavation of the fort and the legends associated with it.

Home to beautiful woodland and forest parks, County Armagh is a nature lover's paradise where you can spot various specimens of migrating birds around Lough Neagh, Ireland's largest lake. Get up close to nature at the Lough Neagh Discovery Centre where you can enjoy a pleasant day out in an authentic natural environment and marvel at the biodiversity, flora and fauna of this wetland nature centre. Guided Tours, Birdwatching Observation Posts and an intriguing interpretative centre are an integral part of the visitor experience. In South Armagh, one of the most bucolic and picturesque setting is the Ring of Gullion and Slieve Gullion Forest Park, only a short drive or bus journey from the cultural centre of Armagh Town. The highest peak in the area is Sleive Gullion and reaching its peak is not as strenuous as anticipated measuring 577m in height. Views from the summit are breathtaking stretching over to the Ring of Gullion, the circle of hillocks that surround this mountain and lend to the area's unique landscape.

Sports and leisure enthusiasts can engage in a host of pursuits in the major centres of the county such as Armagh Town, Portadown, Craigavon and Lurgan, each providing state of the art leisure centres were you can practice and hone your skills at a variety of indoor sports from table tennis to swimming. Alternatively, why not discover Lough Neagh and capture the essence of this stunning natural fresh water lake by embarking on one of the lough cruises that commence from Kinnego Marino, a superb vacation spot with an excellent provision of first-class amenities and accommodation designed for all budgets. Far removed from its turbulent past, Armagh has developed into a popular holiday destination offering visitors an exuberant selection of attractions and world-class accommodation with superb hospitality to match. From gently undulating countryside to immaculately preserved stately homes, Armagh will surprise and enchant you in every sense.

Please click on the Ulster map below to find out more information about nearby Irish counties.

Ulster Donegal Hotels Tyrone Hotels Derry Hotels Antrim Hotels Down Hotels monaghan armagh Fermanagh Hotels Belfast Hotels cavan

There are 9 counties in Ulster Province.
Irish Republic: Cavan, Donegal and Monaghan.
Northern Ireland: Antrim, Armagh, Derry, Down,
Fermanagh and Tyrone.
© GNWS Ltd 2002 to 2011.
Related Sites | Contact Us